ENSA Board of Directors

Edinburgh Napier Students' Association was established under the University Charter on 1 April 1993.

The management of the Association is the responsibility of the Board of Directors. The Board is responsible for the overall governance, setting the strategy and direction of the Association. The Board of Directors and Student Presidents receive an induction into their legal and administrative responsibilities; they are familiar with the work of the Association and the Board received bespoke training on trusteeship and its responsibilities from Scott Moncrieff.

The Board meets regularly with the Head of ENSA to review the charity’s performance, its administration, and to discuss and decide on the issues arising.

Board Meeting Minutes

You can download the minutes from the latest Board Meeting here (PDF). (Sept 2021)

Previous meetings:

June 2021 Minutes (PDF)
May 2021 Minutes (PDF)
March 2021 Minutes (PDF)
February 2021 Minutes (PDF)
December 2020_Minutes (PDF)

Register of Interest Forms

Register of Interest Forms 2021 (PDF)



Dr Jenny Rees - Chair

Jenny has extensive senior level experience in higher education; her last permanent post was as Vice Principal (Academic Quality & Customer Service) at Edinburgh Napier University. Her subsequent career has been as an interim manager and consultant, working with universities and professional bodies in the UK and worldwide. She has served on and chaired a diversity of Boards. Until December 2020 she worked as interim Head of ENSA and, wanting to continue to support ENSA, applied successfully to become Chair of ENSA’s Trustee Board from January 2021. 


Angela Moodie - Treasurer

Angela is a Chartered Accountant with over 15-years experience as a senior finance professional. Currently Finance Director at House of Gods, Angela was previously with FNZ and Scottish Water Business Stream.



Dr Ailsa Crum - External Lay Director

Dr Ailsa Crum is Director of Membership, Quality Enhancement & Standards at QAA. Her career has involved extensive student engagement including partnership working with sparqs. She established a student-led project as part of the national Enhancement Themes and speaks widely on the benefits of students as partners in national and institutional policy and practice.

Ailsa has a range of links inside and outside the UK including: the Academic Quality Agency for New Zealand Universities, the European Quality Audit Network, Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI) and the University of Limerick. Outside work, Ailsa has a research interest in literary memoir and all forms of storytelling.

Rachael Donovan - External Lay Director

Rachael joined the ENSA Board in May 2020. Rachael currently works in Higher Education, and has recently completed a Masters in Disability and Inclusion Studies.



Isobel Hall - External Lay Director

Isobel has worked in Students' Unions in various roles over the past 5 years including being a twice elected Sabbatical Officer (President of Education and President of the Students' Union, Hull University Students' Union) and a staff member at a postgraduate specific Students' Union (Representation and Democracy Coordinator at York GSA). Isobel has previously served on the QAA's Student Strategic Advisory Committee for two terms and is also the founder of ‘SUcan!’ - a training and consultancy agency designed to empower those working within Students’ Unions! Isobel also currently is studying for an MBA at the University of Lincoln part-time and runs a side business making handmade items.



Andy Houghton - External Lay Director

Andy founded WholeHearted in 2015 after spending 10 years with a premier business psychology consultancy. WholeHearted’s purpose is to deliver higher levels of business and individual performance by helping clients to create the conditions where they and the people they lead can truly be themselves at work.

Prior to his time in consulting, Andy enjoyed more than 15 years in senior HR and Talent roles with British Gas, Allied Domecq, RBS and, most recently, with Centrica as the HR Director of British Gas.  In these roles, he has been involved in significant organisational and individual transformation and led large scale change management programmes. He has lived in the UK and the USA and worked across Asia, Africa, Latin America and North America.

Andy has a BSc (Hons) degree from the University of Birmingham, an MSC from the University of London and a Certificate in Organisation Design from the University of Southern California. He is a member of Edinburgh Napier University’s Court and lives in Edinburgh with his wife and daughter.


Emily Divine - Full-Time Officer, Director

Emily is one of ENSA's Full-Time Officers for session 2021/22. She studied Pyschology at Edinburgh Napier and graduated in the Summer, joining the Board in July 2021. Her current role is Co-President for Sport and Wellbeing.



Matthew Akinpelu - Full-Time Officer, Director

Matthew is one of ENSA's Full-Time Officers for session 2021/22. He is from Nigeria and studied Master of Business Administration at Edinburgh Napier. He joined the Board in July 2021 and his current role is Co-President for Education and Employability.


Heloisa Fyfe - Full-Time Officer, Director

Heloisa has been re-elected as one of ENSA's Full-Time Officers having served as a Vice President last year. She joined ENSA after graduating from an undergraduate course in Events Management, and has been on the Board since July 2020. Her current role is that of President for Societies and Community. 



Aiden Kremin-Pacey - Student Lay Director

Aiden is a third-year BA (Hons) International Business Management student from Nottingham. He volunteered as a student lay trustee with ENSA to improve his understanding of governance, gain valuable experience, and positively impact the University community.



Olivia Gardiner - Student Lay Director

Olivia is a fourth-year student studying BA (Hons) Business Managament who is originally from Aberdeen but has previusly lived in both Asia and the Middle East. She has joined the board with the aim of helping to positively impact the wider student community whilst also gaining a greater understanding of governance.


Get Social